1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What ladders for cutting high hedges?

Discussion in 'Garden Projects and DIY' started by richard6298, Jan 27, 2012.

1. richard6298

richard6298 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hi. I'm a gardening beginner.

I need to buy a pair of ladders to cut a privet hedge with a pair of hedge trimmers. The height of the top cut will be 2.4m. When my hedge trimmers are at waist height, they are 1.2m above my feet. That means I need to be standing 1.2m above the ground to be cutting the top of the hedge at 2.4m.

The ladder will stand on a lawn with no border for flowers.

Can anyone please recommend the type of ladders I probably ought to be considering?

I'm hoping to buy something in a January sale. Thanks. Rich

2. alex-adam

alex-adam Super Gardener

Ratings:
    +711
    Hello Rich, and welcome to the GC Forum.

You can be sure to get lots of help and advice from our very experienced, knowledgeable and enthusiastic members.

Now, for your question regarding ladders. The Japanese Niwaki Tripod Ladders have a good reputation for hedge work as you can actually place the single leg within the hedge, so you can stand close to the work area.
    I have no experience of these ladders myself, but no doubt one of the oher members will have, and maybe other suggestions.

In the meantime, here is a link to Niwaki website: Niwaki - Japanese Tripod Ladders, Fine Pruning Tools & Other Great Stuff from Japan

3. *dim*

*dim* Head Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,600
  4. landimad

landimad Odd job man

recovering medical enigma
    Ratings:
    +546
  5. *dim*

*dim* Head Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,600
    [​IMG]

• Like Like x 2
  6. Scrungee

Scrungee Well known for it

Ratings:
    +9,163

You need the next size up costing £99.99 to get a 1.2m high working platform Multi Purpose Ladders - Multi Purpose Ladder - Ladders