100 Bulbs, new bed, general help, and Hello :)

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Chef_uk, Apr 30, 2011.

1. Chef_uk

Chef_uk Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone. New here :) and I’m after some advice already. I’ve just taken an interest in growing my own veg as of last September and the bug seems to have spread to non-edibles.

Yesterday I only went to buy some more compost and came home with 100 bulbs consisting of:

30 Brodiaea Queen Fabiola
    25 Anemone De Caen
    20 Gladioli Victore Borge
    3 Asiatic Lily Navona
    2 Dahlia Vuurvogal

Total price of the bulbs was £2.49 and when I came home I immediately started work on making a bed at the front of the house where the lawn meets the path. Now I know nothing about planting bulbs but through learning how to grow veg over the last 6 months I’ve picked up the odd piece here and there (but im under no illusions that I’m an expert yet).

Dahlia’s, am I right that I can plant the two bulbs in pots first, then when the first shoot comes up, cut it off with some of the tuber and replant that in to another pot along the sides whilst leaving the original tuber to grow another shoot? Thus doing so will give me little plug plants to plant out in June?

The 98 other bulbs were not looking all that great. The £2.49 price was a 2nd reduction so god knows how long they had been on the shelf for. Because of this, I soaked them all over night in luke warm water to give them a kick start in germinating. Was this ok to do? They will be planting out today once I get the ok from you guys on my second question :)

My bed for these bulbs is 7.3m (24ft) on the length, and 0.8m (2.6ft) deep. Will this be sufficient space for all the bulbs and their future growth? If not, I will be digging out a circle in the middle of the lawn as from fence to house its 4.1m (13ft) deep and needs filling out as its very bland. If I need the circle for some of the bulbs, what size should I am to dig out?