A few general questions......

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by busybee, Apr 20, 2010.

1. busybee

busybee Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

This is my first year in my first house with its first garden, so i have a few questions if anyone can be of help?

1 - The garden is dug over and ready to tyrf, what would be the latest i should have it turfed? A friend in the business is doing it and he's asked if we can wait a couple of weeks before he does it - i'm just a little concerned its getting on in the year for turfing, or have we got plenty of time yet?

2 - I have an Acer palmatum which is in a pot. I bought it last early summer time and it is in the same pot. I'm undecided as to whether i plant it out in the garden or buy it a larger pot? I'm a little reluctant to plant it out cos the tree has sentimental value and i would like to take it with me when i move house - is it ok to pot up into a larger pot? If so, what size pot? At what time of year do i re-pot? I know i need to use aicidic compost, but do i add any kind of feed to it?

3 - Related to the same tree as in No.2, some of the longer brances have no leaves/buds forming towards the ends of the branches. The rest of the tree is doing very well. Do i cut back these branches with no leaves/buds? If so, I presume I cut them back to healthy leaves, just behind the nodes?

4 - I have many plants potted up (brought them with me from previous house where i had loads of potted plants), however, some plants really need to go out in the garden as they are looking pot-bound. Can i just pot them in to bigger pots for now until i have my turf down and know where my borders will be? Or should i just leave them in their current pots until i can plant out in several weeks (once turf is down). Some of the pot bound plants include geraniums, rudbehekia (sp) and campanula, just dont want them to die!

many thanks

2. PeterS

PeterS Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +4,015