A New Pedal Powered Rotavator

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by suze2403, Oct 19, 2010.

1. suze2403

suze2403 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello All!

When you prepare a garden bed, do you use a Spades, Shovel and Forks, but find it is a lot of hard work and time? Or do you use a diesel rotavator to get the job done even though its not eco-friendly?

I am a product design student in my final year at Northumbria university and have to undertake a major final year project which finds a problem that a product can solve; I have been in touch with a community that is constantly increasing its ability to be eco-friendly, sustainable and provide for itself from its surroundings; such as, growing their own veg for the community etc. The community have suggested a pedal powered rotavator may be a good idea, because they are spending a lot of time and hard work to prepare the beds just using spades and shovels to tackle 1/4 of an acre at a time yet our legs are much stronger than our arms and may be able to do the job more sufficiently.

So do you think that it is a good idea and there is a need for a product like this? Or would you even want a product like it for your allotment/garden/community yourself? All opinions and thoughts will be greatly welcome!

Suze

2. Doghouse Riley

Doghouse Riley Head Gardener

"Pleasantly unemployed."
    Ratings:
    +4,413
    This must be a joke.

A pedal-powered rotovator?

Have you any idea how much power would need to be generated to turn over a compacted, wet, clay, soil?
    As a design student you must be aware of the huge mechanical advantage has an ordinary garden spade and yet the amount of force needed to turn over just a spadeful of heavy soil.

The affect of a small petrol driven rotavator on the environment would be minimal.

3. Axl

Axl Gardener

Ratings:
    +446