A stupid tomato question.

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Anthony, Jun 9, 2008.

1. Anthony

Anthony Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi everyone.

I was doing a daily check of my tomatoes and was taking a closer look at the flowers that had died off. I took a close look and there was a small round green thing ...

[​IMG]

... a tomato! I've checked and there are lots of them!

My question is ... What do I need to do now?

2. ellenw

ellenw Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    lucky you! im no expert but from my tomatoes last year I would say just water, feed and wait!
    when red, pick and eat! yum yum!

3. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +48,995
    Yep you've got the beginnings of a nice crop of toms. Els is right, start feeding them with a tom feed, I use Tomorite (or the cheaper Wilkinsons equivalent).

4. 3134Karen

3134Karen Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I would also say that just wait and water and feed them and they should become some nice tomatoes.

5. coub

coub Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Antony are they in grow-bag compost,if not it would help,once they are taking food through the roots with the compost then just feed with tomato food [tomorite] once a week and you will have a real crop of tomatos

6. Anthony

Anthony Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the response everyone. It was the feeding that I hadn't started so I bought some Tomatorite and have given them their first feed.

They're not in compost specifically for tomatoes.

I have to admit that things are getting quite exciting as my current crop of raddishes are just about ready. :D

Ant.

7. Flinty

Flinty Gardener

Ratings:
    +5
    Anthony

Your home grown radishes should be a revelation - so much tastier and juicier than those small red balls of polystyrene they call radishes in supermarkets.

8. terrier

terrier Gardener

Ratings:
    +12