Action cameras

Discussion in 'Photography Talk' started by hydrogardener, Sep 25, 2015.

1. hydrogardener

hydrogardener Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +5,084
    My wife purchased a Go Pro Hero 3 for me as a gift to use with my drone, however right out of the box the camera did not work. After a few hours on the phone with Go Pro support, they said to return it and replacment would be sent within two days of them receiving the camera and copy of the receipt. I returned the camera and after a month and a lot of hassle I finally received a replacement. In the meantime, I got to thinking: Do I want to send an expensive camera up on my drone, after all I am just learning how to fly it? I looked on Amazon and eBay for a knockoff action camera to use on the drone. I purchased a camera that looked identical to the Go Pro, but it has twice the resolution, 12 mp as opposed to 5 mp. Plus, it has a view screen, and play back, and came with a carry case and lots of accessories. It even has a WiFi connection, which works better than the Go Pro WiFi! All of the original Go Pro mounts fit this camera, and vice versa. All I got with the Go Pro was simply the box. The knockoff cost one third the cost of the Go Pro, and I now find myself using it more than the Go Pro. The lens angle of the knockoff is not as wide as the Go Pro, but I kind of like that. The knockoff, at a third of the cost of the Go Pro has identical features, so it makes me wonder if Go Pro is just charging extra for their name. The photo below was taken today with the knockoff, and I can see that Mother Nature is dipping her brush into the paint bucket getting ready for the fall display.

[​IMG]

• Like Like x 4
    • Tm120

Tm120 Gardener

Ratings:
      +33
      Great picture. I'd love to be able to take ariel pictures. I am gonna be a bit nosey and ask the price of drone and camera BUT you don't have to. I know nothing about drones or cameras

• hydrogardener

Retired
      Ratings:
      +5,084