Advice needed with two of my plants

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by xf8u39, Dec 31, 2015.

1. xf8u39

xf8u39 Gardener

Mechanical Designer
    Ratings:
    +14
    Guys, please see the 2 attached pics. One is an avocado which I grew from the pit inJune 2014. It seems to be doing reaonably well given that it is outdoors in summer and in my plastic greenhouse in Winter.
    Question: there are two stalks. Is this two plants (ie male/female) or is this normal activity for avocados.
    Also, how long would it ordinarily need to be in the pot before planting outside permanently.

Secondly, see the pic of my Yucca Rostrata, again grown from seed purchsed on Ebay.
    Not sure whether to keep it indoors or oudoors (summer only)
    It is about 12 months old and has not grown an inch in the past 6. Is there something I am doing wrong?

Any advice welcome. Don't forget you are talking to a complete noob here.

Rgds

Michael

Attached Files:

2. Phil A

Phil A Guest

Ratings:
    +0
  3. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,076
    Hi Michael, I stand to be corrected but as far as I know Avocado is not hardy in the UK, unless you can find a sheltered spot with a sunny aspect.
    A south facing wall could be possible but I think one of our cold winters would wipe it out.
    As to two plants, might possibly be two separate root systems, often that happens when you grow from seed, citrus being another plant that does this, one strong grower and a weaker one from the same seed.
    Dont think male and female really comes into it.

The Yucca, I believe, should be hardy but needs to grow on a few years before planting out.
    Personal thoughts are its in a pot too large at this stage, which could bring on root rot at this time of the year if you are not very careful with the watering.
    Bear in mind it will only grow in the summer months, so wouldn't expect much new growth until May at the earliest.:smile: