Advice on how much to charge for spraying.

Discussion in 'Roses' started by grant7173, Feb 15, 2015.

1. grant7173

grant7173 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

I am just starting out on my own and would appreciate some advice on how much to charge customers for the different types of spraying (weeds mostly).

I am fully qualified to spray and have the relevant NPTC tickets.

Any help with this is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

2. noisette47

noisette47 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +15,342
    Hi again, Well, firstly are you supplying the treatment and spraying equipment? Assuming you are, whatever you've set as your going rate in general would take into account your equipment costs. That leaves the cost of the chemicals. Are you buying them at preferential rates? If not, add the retail cost plus any costs incurred in fetching them. Some pro's add a profit margin, but personally I think, when you're just starting out, it's best to wait until you've got an established client base before charging high! If you are buying them at a reduced rate then you need a rough idea of the retail price per litre so you can charge that.
    If the customer is buying the chemicals and supplying a sprayer, only you can decide what your time is worth. I didn't charge different rates for different jobs. You'll know that you've got your charges right when work comes in steadily by word-of-mouth. If you're overwhelmed with prospective clients, you'll know that you're charging too little:) You don't say what area you're in, but that will be a factor, as will the type of client. Mostly pensioners and disabled folk with small gardens, or affluent youngish families and Yellow Book mansions? I started off with the first and ended up with the latter. Both very fulfilling! Good luck with your venture:)

3. LyndaG

LyndaG Super Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,390