1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

advice on peppers please?

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by jem218, Jul 5, 2009.

1. jem218

jem218 Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    hello, i am quite new to edible gardening and i am really enjoying- but i am now stuck on whats best to do next? my pepper plants are just starting to flower- there are loads all over it! some 1 told me to pinch them off and my dad told me not too! what a dilema
    can anyone help me on this please?
    jane :cnfs:

2. pamsdish

pamsdish Total Gardener

Retired
    "Black Country Wench" in Margam,Port Talbot,Wales
    Ratings:
    +4,445
    Hi Jane
    I have never grown peppers but i had a quick look at this site and it says no , this is a good guide to most veggies www.thegardenersalmanac.co.uk

3. jem218

jem218 Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    hi there, thanks for your reply, i had a look and i think i am going to leave them- at least for awhile and i'll see what happens!#
    jane

4. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,596
    Don't pinch the flowers off. The peppers form behind the flower after the flower finishes. In effect the pepper is the seed pod that forms after the flower, so nipping the flowers off will just prevent the peppers forming.