Agapanthus gall mite

Discussion in 'Pests, Diseases and Cures' started by ValK, Aug 23, 2024.

1. ValK

ValK Apprentice Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello, I’m new to Gardeners corner, I’ve searched but can’t find any reference to this. I bought 3 new agapanthus plants 3/4 years ago, Midnight Star. The buds didn’t open properly so after finding out about the gall mite I cut into one and found tiny grubs. Sent them off to RHS who confirmed it was gall mite. Tried a Strulch mulch on their advice. Worse than ever this year and spread to my pot of Headbourne hybrids, flowers the size of footballs, so I’m a bit upset to say the least.
    Has anyone managed to get rid of the things? Or is my only option to chuck them all out? All advice very welcome.

• Informative Informative x 1
    • NigelJ

NigelJ Total Gardener

Mad Scientist
      Ratings:
      +22,551
      It would appear that this midge is a recently identified problem (2014) and according to the RHS the only control measures are hygiene so remove affected flower heads as soon as identified, repot over winter to remove larvae/pupa and keep your fingers crossed that they find a biological control.
      I wonder if it affects plants in the ground as badly as mine are in the ground, not pots.

• On the Levels

On the Levels Super Gardener

Ratings:
      +1,500
      Yet another pest to worry about. Our plants look ok and hopefully they are.

• ViewAhead

ViewAhead Head Gardener

South of the South Downs, north of the sea!
      Ratings:
      +3,459
      Oh no! I had not heard of this. :help: My fuchsias are badly affected, so I hope the agapanthus one is a different strain and cross contamination can't happen.

Thank you for the info, @ValK ... and welcome to GC. :)

• ValK

ValK Apprentice Gardener

Retired
      Ratings:
      +2