Another potato Question (Help)

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by steve75, Mar 16, 2009.

1. steve75

steve75 Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I am pretty new to the world of growing veg. I am looking to have a go with potatoes this year i have a spot near the greenhouse it is a raised bed of about 6ftX6ft and 2ft deep where I intend to grow. Unfortunately i have no idea on what types to go for or how many tubers to put into the bed can you give me a little guidance. I remember the days as a kid digging up potatoes with my Granddad and how good they tasted.

2. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,596
    Make trenchs about 2ft apart and 3 inches deep and drop the seedies in about 1ft apart. Always works for me. If you haven't filled the raised beds already, dont fill them right up. The trick to getting a high yield from tatties is to keep banking up the soil as the plants grow, so there's never more than about 8 inches of each plant showing. Let them go about 2 weeks before harvest time. Keep the soil fairly loose so you can get your hand in without upset the plants too much, and as they approach harvest time, pick just a few tatties off each plant as needed, without disturbing the rest of the plant. That way the ones you leave will continue to grow. When the topside growth is past its best, dig out any remaining tatties. Be sure to burn the finished plants to minimise the risk of blight.

3. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,668
    I suggest you grow First Early or Second Early (or both!) Main Crop potaotes come along alter and more chance of blight, and home grown potatoes are best, IMHO, cooked as New Potatoes, rather than "Stored for the Winter" :)

4. steve75

steve75 Gardener

Ratings:
    +0