Are these ready to repot?

Discussion in 'Propagation This Month' started by Noushynoo, Apr 9, 2014.

1. Noushynoo

Noushynoo Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    My bedroom floor, by a sunny window helps.

Planted these seeds in February. Sorry, nothing too exotic. I'm a beginner.

The first to shoot were the Asters, closely followed by the Echinacea Pink Parasol. A close third was the Poppy bright orange.
    Flagging last is the Verbena bonariensis. Only one shoot took hold at first, which took 3-4 weeks to show. Now there are some others. Only just.

Finishing the curtains? Well, that's been on my list of to dos for 3 years.

Are the larger ones now ready to repot?

Attached Files:

2. pamsdish

pamsdish Total Gardener

Retired
    "Black Country Wench" in Margam,Port Talbot,Wales
    Ratings:
    +4,445
    No not from what I can make out, the first leaves are the seed leaves, these are how you handle the plant, you hold these never the other leaves or the stem when potting on, wait until you can see a second set of leaves forming. It will be stronger and take the move better, Poppies do not like being moved so if its possible try to slide them out of the tray into their final position.

3. longk

longk Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +23,089
    My method is rather different from the accepted wisdom. I consider myself somewhat skilled at pricking seedlings out as soon as they are upright using those bamboo skewers that can be bought in Asian s/markets (I'm paying 75p for 100). I find that it's the best way to avoid root trauma (the reason that your Poppies will almost certainly die if you attempt to prick them out now) without disturbing the other seeds around them. Just requires a steady hand and keen eyesight.

• Like Like x 3
    • Madahhlia

Madahhlia Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +3,089
      I've got some curtains like those ones!