Ask Clueless1

Discussion in 'Gardeners Corner Question Time' started by clueless1, Aug 28, 2009.

1. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,597
    1. How did you come to join Gardeners Corner?

Having bought a piece of land in the countryside, I had great ambitions of making a positive contribution to the environment by filling it with lots of native wild plants that are in decline due in part to modern farming practices. I had a vision of the place being full of wild flowers, and supporting a wide range of wildlife. Sadly the only wildlife it seems to support in any numbers is rabbits and wild deer that destroy everything they can.

2. Name the countries or counties you have lived in …

Blighty (Britain)

3. Describe the type of work you do.

I make my living being a computer programmer, or a 'button presser' as I've been called (among other things). As penance for sins in a previous life I try to manage 3 acres of countryside armed with just manual tools (ok I occassionally borrow a rotorvator and a chainsaw), just me, my dad and my mate Paul (who can't help with all jobs as he plants potatoes upside down:) ).

4. Describe how you first got into gardening …

I was always vaguely interested, but used to think if you can't eat it, there's no point growing it. I had an allotment when I was younger and grew lots of veg, then nothing for years due to work commitments etc. I rediscovered my interest when I took on my land, and then that interest increased when my wife became pregnant and I decided instead of repeated half hearted attempts at looking after the back garden, I should make a real effort to make it a nice place for my son to play in.

5. What would be your dream type of garden and do you think you will ever be able to achieve it?

Something that looks natural but tidy, colourful at all times of year, with water features in it, and lots of buzzy, chirpy, fluttery things in it.