Ask Daisees

Discussion in 'Gardeners Corner Question Time' started by Daisies, Aug 3, 2009.

1. Daisies

Daisies Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +2,686
    1. How did you come to join Gardeners Corner?
    My sister (jjordie) found it in May 05 and since I had just moved into a house with a nice sized garden which was a first for me, I was in dire need of all the advice I could get! I'd never heard about forums before and very quickly I had registered on heaps and become a moderator on many.

2. Name the countries or counties you have lived in â?¦
    Never been abroad to live but have moved around a bit
    ~ Wolverhampton (born there)
    ~ Norwich
    ~ Chester
    ~ Hinkley, Leics
    ~ Leicester
    ~ Coventry, Warwickshire
    ~ Evesham, Worcestershire
    ~ Barnet, Herts
    ~ Lowestoft, Suffolk
    ~ High Wycombe, Bucks
    ~ Harlow, Essex
    ~ Sunderland, Tyne & Wear

3. Describe the type of work you do.
    I am a nurse of some 50 years experience. I spent most of my career working in operating theatres, hence all the moving around! My last count, I have worked in around 21 different operating theatres up and down the country. My experience was mainly in orthopaedics, trauma and joint replacement. I took early retirement in 89 but returned to train as an occupational health nurse. I've been doing a bit of both ever since! Right now, at the age of 67, I am still working one or two days a week in occy health and loving it!

4. Describe how you first got into gardening â?¦
    I always had a yen to plant something in the spring but since I lived in flats and nurses homes, never had the opportunity. So when I made the decision to move up north, I made sure I bought a property with a bit of garden so I could grow flowers and vegetables. I was lucky to find this one which has a 40' by 40' back garden and a little one at the front.