Autumn fruiting raspberries

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by mazco, Aug 17, 2009.

1. mazco

mazco Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I was given some autumn fruiting raspberries by a friend earlier this year. (About March). She told me to put them in and then cut them right back. She also said they wouldn't fruit this year.
    I did as instructed and I am now getting quite a few beautiful raspberries. These raspberries appear to be on one shoot on each plant and there is another one which has no fruit on at all. I have read somewhere that autumn fruiting bushes have summer fruits on them whilst sending up another shoot that bears autumn fruit.
    As a newcomer to gardening I have a couple of questions - Are these summer or autumn fruits? What should I do with these fruiting shoots when they have finished fruiting? Should I expect any autumn fruits on these bushes later in the year?

This is my first year of fruit and veg gardening so I know very little about the whole thing. I'm really pleased with what I've grown so far but still have loads to learn. I'd welcome any advice on this subject and probably many more to come.
    Thanks

2. Gren

Gren Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I'd be interested in hearing more on this too. We bought some raspberries last year and not knowing there were Autumn/Summer versions we never took much notice of the variety.

This year they've been going great guns with edible fruits for the last month or so but really coming into their own now and more fruit still a way from ripeness. So they are much later than our strawberries but its still far fron being Autumn.

So was just wondering when do Summer fruiters fruit and when do Autumn ones fruit?

3. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,668