bellis pomponette - I think.

Discussion in 'Members Gallery' started by Freedom_Spark, Jul 26, 2009.

1. Freedom_Spark

Freedom_Spark Gardener

Ratings:
    +26
    My friend gave me some seeds last year which he thought were bellis poponette or some kind of daisy. They weren't very well stored so I thought they wouldn't germinate, I think they should have flowered in spring but gradually over the past month some flowers have grown and more are appearing daily. I don't know how they are supposed to look because I'm a complete beginner but I think they're absolutely beautiful!

[​IMG]

2. PeterS

PeterS Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +4,015
    They are lovely FS, and look very healthy - Bellis perennis. Its really just a cultivar (ie selectively bred) variation of the common lawn daisy. They normally flower early, when not much else is about, but I still have the odd flower head even now. They should be hardy with you, so you will see them again next year.

3. strongylodon

strongylodon Old Member

Retired
    Ratings:
    +29,477
    They should flower in Spring but in Botany there is always the exception to the rule.
    The flower should develop into a button shape or pompom as they are doubles.
    I grew them many years ago but have forgotted how attractive they are.:thumb:

4. Freedom_Spark

Freedom_Spark Gardener

Ratings:
    +26
    Thanks PeterS & strongylodon. I'm glad you told me they would be back next year or I'd have probably thrown them away. Should I cut back the flowers when they begin to die off or should I leave them two their own devices? Is it only the two seasons I should expect them to show up? I think they're great and they're one of the first flowers I've ever grown from seed :D

5. PeterS

PeterS Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +4,015