Best Climber

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by elliegreenwellie, Feb 23, 2007.

1. elliegreenwellie

elliegreenwellie Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Guys,

I am planning on putting up some trellis on a stone wall to block out the pub beer garden next door. Ideally I would like something that does not shed it's leaves in winter so we have year round coverage, however it would also be nice to have something that flowers in summer.

We have some Ivy growing over part of the wall and on to the ground which we could try to pick up and train over some of the trellis however it would be nice to have a flowering plant as well. Also I'm a bit of a novice so something not too difficult to grow would be good.

Would welcome your advice on what to buy and when to plant. Many thanks [​IMG]

2. UsedtobeDendy

UsedtobeDendy Gardener

Retired teacher and gardener
    Ratings:
    +172
    My favourite is Clematis 'Early Snesation' - it has lovely evergreen leaves, and flowers early, hence its name!!

http://www.gardeningexpress.co.uk/ProductDetails.asp?ProductID=11368

There are some evergreen honeysuckles too. This is what the BBC gardening site says about that....

"L. japonica: the Japanese honeysuckle is a variable species with some outstanding forms, such as 'Halliana'. The flowers are pale cream, turning darker yellow just before they fade, and appear in pairs along the stems from mid-June to late November. Generally evergreen, unless there's a particularly cold winter. The wild form, var. repens, has bronze foliage and darker flowers. The Royal Horticultural Society has given 'Halliana' its Award of Garden Merit (AGM)"

3. elliegreenwellie

Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks D.