Blank Canvas Project

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Milliebert, Jun 30, 2012.

1. Milliebert

Milliebert Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +6
    Hello!

I'm hoping some of you lovely people will have some ideas on how I can improve my garden. It's my first ever grown up garden, I moved here a year ago and now have High School aged children so can finally do something with the garden that they won't destroy! I do have a puppy but he is quite good at the moment and isn't currently digging holes everywhere!

I have a blog to chart the progress, all my pics are on there: http://bugsandberries.wordpress.com/the-garden/. But I will put some here too, it's just there are quite a few!

I live on a corner, on a hill. I have every type of condition when it comes to all day sunlight, partial shade, full shade, shelter and exposure due to the location. It can get windy up here too.

I really like gardens that are just a mass of bushes and flowers. I have no knowledge about gardening other than some things I plant grow, and some don't! I also would like some privacy along the front fence. My front garden is very exposed and I have a small yard at the back, you'll see on the photos.

OK, the front garden:
    IMG_20120620_083632.jpg
    IMG_20120620_083654.jpg
    IMG_20120620_083717.jpg

This is a thistle, which I absolutely love. At the moment it is breaking into beautiful vibrant flowers and looks lovely. It's also covered in ladybirds. I would like to attract bees and butterflies to the garden.
    IMG_20120620_083722.jpg
    IMG_20120620_083925.jpg