Boggy lawn

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by GYO newbie, Apr 8, 2015.

1. GYO newbie

GYO newbie Gardener

Ratings:
    +178
    I am a novice gardener and new to GYO. GYO is where my interests are but I am starting to take more of an interest in general gardening also.

We have never had a 'nice lawn'. Modern house - clay soil - anything but level. The garden is south facing. The bottom 4 - 5 ft of the lawn is boggy. Weeds, moss and several different types of grass cover the area.

I am not after a bowling green. I would like less moss, less clover and less bog. The bog is my priority.

Yesterday I started to use a garden folk and puncture the lawn with holes. Continued today - I have blisters!!! Happy to continue if it works. What else can i do? Can I put anything on the lawn to soak up the wet? Is there a more appropriate grass seed to sow?

I have a scarifier. I am yet to cut the lawn this year.

Looking forward to reading your advice/tips.

2. Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +53,886
    Clay is soil that needs to be kept open. Would you prefer lawn at the boggy end or plants? Preparation for either is not easy but shrubs and trees would take up some of the excess moisture.