Bramble and other weeds in new lawn

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Nattie, Sep 1, 2024.

1. Nattie

Nattie Apprentice Gardener

Sitting at a desk for more hours than is healthy!
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi,

Apologies for signing up and launching straight into a request for help, but I'm feeling a bit miserable about this situation and hoping that someone with more experience of gardening and lawn care might be able to advise.

I am completely new to gardening, other than sticking a few plants from B&Q into pots and borders over the years and hoping for the best (apologies if this is making you proper gardeners wince - I am trying to mend my ways!). I've also never had a lawn before now

This year I arranged for all the gravel and overgrown borders in my garden (which i'm ashamed to say had become derelict since 2020) to be dug up by gardeners and replaced with a lawn. The work was completed about 3 months ago and cost an arm & leg. This was a huge decision and has crippled us financially but I was desperate for some green outdoor space so decided it was worth it.

Unfortunately, three months in, and we have a ton of unwelcome plants coming up though the lawn including dandelion, thistle, montbretia and now patches of brambles.

I understand the dandelions and thistle were under the gravel to start with, but I'm really upset about the bramble as it was previously confined to the top end of the garden near the gate but is now spread around the lawn - the same goes for the montbretia which was previously confined to clumps in the borders.

Everything I've read suggests that cutting bramble will make it proliferate further, so I'm feeling anxious to mow the lawn right now as envisioning my whole lawn be coming a mass of the stuff if I do.

I don't really care about normal lawn weeds like the dandelion, but please could someone advise on the best way to deal with the bramble, and possibly the montbretia if it's likely to be problematic.