Broom and Clematis questions

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by oakdaledave, Jun 3, 2010.

1. oakdaledave

oakdaledave Gardener

Ratings:
    +7
    Hi Guys,

1) I have a new clematis (planted in Autumn last year) It has flowered and was producing a new shoot to climb up the trellis, however.....the new shoot all of a sudden withered and died! The plant is about a foot tall in total and has 5 pink flowers and green leaves. I wonder why the shoot suddenly died?

2) The Broom that I planted in the autumn has flowered and now seems to be producing seed pods (they look like very small pea pods). How and when can I sew these for new plants? I have no greenhouse.

Thank you as always for all your help and guidance.

Dave

2. ClaraLou

ClaraLou Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +2,730
    Hi Oakdaledave

I have no experience of growing broom at all - let alone from seed - so I'll leave that for Someone Who Knows.

As far as the clematis goes, I'm afraid what you've experienced is not uncommon. It may just be that your shoot got whipped around in the wind or chomped by snails. (You don't say which variety it is - do you know its name?) However, clematis can be fickle blighters and they sometimes suffer from something called 'clematis wilt', whereby the plant suddenly wilts from the tips and collapses for no apparent reason. You can have a plant in full bud one minute and moribund the next. Often, however, they recover - even if the whole plant succumbs. Just when you think your plant is a goner, a nice new shoot suddenly appears. Gardening books tell you to plant clematis deep so that they have a better chance of shooting from the base if the top growth suddenly goes pear shaped.