Brugmansia safe pest control

Discussion in 'Tropical Gardening' started by IGraham, Jun 27, 2014.

1. IGraham

IGraham Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +22
    Hello

My brugmansia has a pest and I'm hoping someone can give me info on a safe way to kill/control the critters.

The pest is what looks like a small green caterpillar and theres a good number of them, when I disturb the leaf I can see them drop off.

I'm new to Brugs and dont want to use a spray that will damage the plant, the person I purchased of (ebay) included an info sheet that advised not to use a pyrethrum based treatment ?

Can someone name a few safe (from experience) treatments

Please

2. joolz68

joolz68 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +5,386
    Squish them!ive had clusters of them on my cannas this week :gaah:
    I will re check my brugs though,thanks :)

3. longk

longk Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +23,091
    When disturbed does it wriggle its ass off at 100mph and are you finding leaves rolled up with what looks like silk?

4. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,084
    Not found brugs particularly sensitive to sprays.
    I dont think anyone uses pyrethrum on caterpillars anyway.,

Just get something that says it kills catterpillars.

5. IGraham

Ratings:
    +22
    Thanks for the replys people

Definitely small green caterpillars

Had a good 'Squishing' session this afternoon, found that with the plant on a bench and me crouching down and looking up most of the critters were silhouetted and killable. However also noticed that some of them did drop out of site and that egg clumps were visible so still looking at spraying.
    From the when purchased included info I was thinking that brugs were maybe a bit sensitive regards types of spray but your saying Pete that any spray will do ? something like Provado Ultimate Bug Killer maybe - which was suggested on a google search result