Brussel Sprouts Questions...

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Johnnie2Sheds, Nov 23, 2008.

1. Johnnie2Sheds

Johnnie2Sheds Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I love brussel sprouts. My wife has even made me Brussel Sprout Curry(once). She MUST love me!
    Anyway, I am new to this growing lark but I decided to try to grow organically. I put in six plants that my wife had kindly nurtured from seed, a couple of beer slug traps and watched. After a few weeks they were about 15" high and looked really healthy. Of course, those butterflies started to appear. But I thought, "Cuh it'll be alright theres only a few of them."

Imagine my surprise then, one Saturday morning, when inspecting said plants to find them CRAWLING with caterpillers all busily chewing my bestest brussel leaves. All tree hugging ideas vanished from my head. I went to the garage and found an elderly sprayer full of "Rose Clear" and doused the plants in it. The caterpillers were literally faling off the plants as I sprayed. I then thought that it might not have been the greatest idea as I might have poisoned the entire crop. But no harm has come to me yet. They were sprayed about 10 weeks ago and Ive just eaten some a week ago.
    Anyway, to the questions.......

What is the best and cheapest way to keep butterflies off the plants without resorting to hideous chemicals?

When harvesting them is it OK to remove them as you need them or does the lot have to come off at once?
    I have been using them as required and the plants seem OK

Do you have to wait for the first frost to start picking them or is that just folklore?

What crop is the best thing to plant in the round they will vacate? A root crop?

Sorry for all the newbie questions but I am here to (try to) learn.

THanks

2. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,645
    I used to grow brussels a while back.