buddleia cutting?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by LooseLotty, Mar 31, 2007.

1. LooseLotty

LooseLotty Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone tell me how to take a buddleia cutting.
    My Dad wants one but I've never done cuttings before. Does it need rooting powder and special soil?
    Thanks x

2. windygale

windygale Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Lotty, I find them easy to propagate, i dont use powders, first cut just under a bud and make your cutting around 6" --8" long, snip the top off just above a bud, then place the cutting into a sandy compost, this can be in pots (keep an eye on moisture - dont allow to dry out) or the ground, this is best & normally done in autumn time, you may find it works now, so give it a try,
    hope this helps
    windygale

3. Blackthorn

Blackthorn Gardener

Ratings:
    +4
    I took some cuttings a couple of weeks ago when I cut back my Budlejas - seem to be ok so far. As windygale says, always worth a go as they root very easily. Good luck [​IMG]

4. LooseLotty

LooseLotty Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks WG and BT I will defininately give it a go. Doesn't sound too difficult! How long do you think it will take to root?

5. Waco

Waco Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    my Budlea self seeds all round the garden, its lovely, but I pull the seedlings up as weeds! Just PM me if you want one, but if your is a special variety, then follow above advice.

6. digital flower

digital flower Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't know that these were easy to grow fron cuttings. I will have give that a try. Mine also seed all over the garden Waco, to the point of being a nuisance. The couple of times I have tried to transplant Butterfly Bush it didn't work.

7. LooseLotty

LooseLotty Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Waco,
    My Dad wants this particular one because his Mum had a deep purple one too. By the way love your chucks! Just noticed your reply to the chicken dilemma!

8. Waco