buddleia

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by milesaway, Aug 6, 2006.

1. milesaway

milesaway Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone and thank you for welcoming me to your wonderfully informative website.
    I am relatively new to the world of gardening and need some advice with regards to the buddleja in my new garden.
    It has been awash with butterflies all summer, but the flowers are now dying out. If i remove the
    dead flower heads will it produce a second crop and entice the butterflies back.

2. Banana Man

Banana Man You're Growing On Me ...

SuperHero...
    Ratings:
    +407
    milesaway, not really I live in Essex :D :D :D

I had thought this possible but on researching I have found this out...

This elegant deciduous shrub bears its scented flowers on stems produced the previous year. So to ensure good flowering next year you need to prune immediately after flowering is over, which can be anytime from late June to the beginning of August. Remove any dead or damaged growth and shorten lop-sided or over-long shoots to balance the overall shape of the shrub. Old and neglected shrubs can be rejuvenated by cutting out one-in-three stems, starting with the oldest. Either cut them back to a sideshoot lower down or remove them completely. You will loose some flowering shoots for next year but the shrub will be the better for it in subsequent years. Alternatively, cut back two-thirds of the oldest stems immediately after flowering.

Hope this helps

BM :D

P.S what part of chelmsford are you in ?

3. shiney

shiney President, Grumpy Old Men's Club Staff Member

Retired - Last Century!!!
    Ratings:
    +122,465
    Hi milesaway

I think that Banana Man was right the first time.

Although his research says you can't do it we did last year. We cut it back in places (not hard) and got more flowers later in the season. The flowers were about half the size of the early ones but the butterflies still loved them.