Butternut squash plants not growing

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Cornsquashandy, Jul 9, 2024.

1. Cornsquashandy

Cornsquashandy Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone
    Just wondering if anyone has any ideas what is causing my butternut squash seedlings to, well, just sit there. They’ve been in their bed at the allotment for 6 weeks now and they are pretty much as they were when I put them in. Please see photo, for scale the distance is approx 1m between plants. They aren’t dying, just not growing. They haven’t been allowed to dry out, nor get too wet.
    I’ve been growing these for 5 years and this hasn’t happened before!
    Thanks for any ideas.

Attached Files:

2. fairygirl

fairygirl Total Gardener

retired
    Ratings:
    +5,148
    HI @Cornsquashandy - I usually only grow them [or pumpkins] in containers when I do them, but I wonder if it's just the swings in weather, and cooler temps this year that's causing them to just sit there sulking.
    I have that problem most years with any kind of seedlings in spring if I plant them out too early, because that's just how our climate is here, and they grow more slowly to begin with anyway, which is why our growing season is shorter.
    Many areas are having that kind of weather this year, but that's unusual for them. Lots of people are finding plants are not behaving in the usual way, so if you're in one of those areas, and haven't had any problems in the past, that could simply be the reason. :smile:

• Agree Agree x 2
    • pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
      Ratings:
      +93,112
      Dont know where you are but if its the UK the chances are its just been too dull and too cold.

They may well have suffered a check in growth when planted out and they are struggling to get moving again.

• Agree Agree x 1
      • BobTG

BobTG Plantaholic

None - at last!
        Ratings:
        +304