Cats

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Blue Skies, Jun 30, 2006.

1. Blue Skies

Blue Skies Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I have three lovely cats, but they insist on using my borders as a toilet. I have recently put loads of work into a new border, filling it with a mixture of plants, flowers and brocoli and runner beans - know it sounds odd but looks (or did look) great. The cats see this as an invitation to toilet!!!

I've covered with a layer of mulch, and repeatedly spread cat repellent granules over it, but to no avail, the little blighters keep doing it, and have dug up several of my brocoli seedlings (which I raised from seed).

I'm new to gardening and was full of pride with what I'd achieved, but they are ruining it, Help!!

2. Victoria

Victoria Lover of Exotic Flora

Lady of Leisure
    Ratings:
    +55,156
    Hi,Blue Skies, and welcome!

I must say I've never really had a problem with my cats using my flower borders as toilets except is caught short. My only cat now, Magic Sam, would cross his legs first ... he'll come at a high rate of knots through the garden and house to his litter box in the bathroom!! Maybe I'm just lucky!

The only other deterrent I can think of is pepper.

3. nicsdad

nicsdad Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    croeso(wellcome) Blue Skies :cool:

4. sparkle

sparkle Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I'm in the process or re-planting one of my borders and I was worried about the same thing. The cats have left it alone though in favour of the unplanted bit where the soil is looser. I really packed down the soil where I had replanted, and watered so it formed a hard surface. Might be worth a try.

5. Liz

Liz Gardener

Ratings:
    +65
    Try chili powder, and find bramble, rose , or other prickly cuttings to spread on the border. Some people find their cats don't like bark chippings as a mulch, and you can also hide [if you've got time] and squirt them with a water pistol! :D