1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Clematis and Wisteria pruning - complete novice

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by medindexer, Oct 8, 2017.

1. medindexer

medindexer Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +5
    I know very little about gardening. I have a lovely arch (6' high) in my tiny new garden (5' wide by about 20') . Two plants either side, planted last year (June) have grown up to meet at the top in profusion. They are Clematis montana and Wisteria sinensis alba

I want to know what I need to do with them regarding pruning, when (of if) and how, so that it keep on doing the job it's done so well this year. And anything else that I need to do to keep my arch going. Thank you clematis arch.jpg

• Like Like x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    • noisette47

noisette47 Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +14,370
      Hello medindexer, welcome to GC :)
      You're going to need to prune with two rampant climbers on one arch! From now on, if you prune the clematis just after it's flowered, you'll get the maximum amount of flowers on the shoots that it makes through the summer. The main task with a clematis is to tie in the shoots where you want them and perhaps thin out quite a few so it doesn't become an unruly tangle.