Clematis question

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Lavender1, Aug 6, 2011.

1. Lavender1

Lavender1 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

Can anyone please tell me whether I can grow two different types of clematis together? One of which is evergreen?

Thanks.

2. ARMANDII

ARMANDII Low Flying Administrator Staff Member

Ratings:
    +100,838
    The quick answer is YES. I've grown 4 on one side of a Trellis entrance and 5 on the other. Just don't forget to plant them deep and feed regularly.:D

• Like Like x 1
    • Louise D

Louise D Head Gardener

Medical.
      Ratings:
      +502
      Lavender1, if you're thinking about keeping them potted the pot will have to be very large.
      Also consider their different pruning needs, a tangle of stems can make pruning a challenge to the best of us !

• Like Like x 1
      • kaitlynoneill

kaitlynoneill Apprentice Gardener

housewife
        Ratings:
        +0
        Hi, I'm new to this but I have a clematis question too. I have a 13 year old Nellie Moser growing up a fence that desperately needs replacing. If I cut it right back to about 6" above ground is this likely to kill it? If so, what is the best way I can tackle this, replace the fence without killing the clematis ?
        I really don't want to destroy the plant. Any ideas?

• Louise D

Louise D Head Gardener

Medical.
        Ratings:
        +502
        Kaitlyn, you'll not kill it, quite the reverse !
        You can cut them down to a few inches above ground level and they'll respond by sending up several new stems - use slug pellets liberally though or the new stems will be gobbled within days.

• Like Like x 2
        • theruralgardener

theruralgardener Gardener

Ratings:
          +149