Clematis

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by snail_magnet, May 23, 2009.

1. snail_magnet

snail_magnet Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello - this is my first post, so please be gentle...

I have a clematis (at least I think it's a clematis - I'm fairly new to gardening, as well) which was growing magnificently and covered nearly half the back of the house last summer. Then it collapsed (it turned out it was only being help up by a narrow plastic pipe, which broke). As it was then covering nearly half the lawn, I couldn't see any way of getting much of it back onto the wall, so I took a machete to it, and it now looks like this:

[​IMG]

It's not pretty but I don't think it's completely dead. There are still a couple of green shoots peeking out - one about half way up and one at the top.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

So my question is - what do I do now? I seem to have 3 options

1. leave it alone
    2. cut it right back so that any new growth starts lower down
    3. dig it up and get a new one from the garden centre

but there may be others. Any suggestions gratefully received

Thanks in advance
    Bryn

2. Alice

Alice Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +81
    Hello Snail Magnet and welcome.

You're right, the plants not dead but it's moribund. I don't see any chance of it making a good recovery.

I would cut it right down to about ground level and see if it will come from underground.

If that fails - it's a trip to the garden centre.

3. Sussexgardener

Sussexgardener Gardener

Ratings:
    +41
    Yes, I'd cut it back hard, at least to the new shoots and close to ground level. With the state it's in, you haven't much to lose at the moment!

4. Palustris

Palustris Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +3,071