Complete beginner here!- advice with a peace lily needed!

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by charlie*P, Mar 20, 2023.

1. charlie*P

charlie*P Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    So,I'm completely new to any form of gardening accept from so small outdoor gardening here and there, and thought that some more simple indoor plants would be a good place to start.After doing some research online I read that peace lillies were pretty hardy and could survive in rooms that don't have too much light.

After purchasing one this afternoon,I re-potted it (how the shopkeeper told me to) and have put it up in the room i had in mind on a low shelf near a west facing window.

I would love some advice on care for this peace lilly .Online sites differ on watering and upkeep and i would really love some knowledge on how to keep it thriving and also if anything I've researched is wrong please correct me, online articles cannot always be trusted which is why I thought it would be better to ask on forums :).

Thank you xxx
    (p.s. Im very new to this website and don't even know if I'm posting this on the right forum :help: )

• Like Like x 1
    • Selleri

Selleri Koala

Ratings:
      +7,861
      Welcome @charlie*P :)

For me the three main things with house plants are location, watering and drainage. Enough light and a position away from radiators is usually a very good starting point.

For watering my rule of thumb is rule of forefinger, push the finger into the compost and if it's dry, water. If not, don't water.

Of course there are exceptions but most houseplants enjoy conditions where the top 1-2 cm are allowed to dry between waterings.

Very soon you will learn approximately how often to water each individual plant, and if in doubt, in goes the finger. :heehee: