Complete newbie lawn cock up ?

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Absconditus, Jul 1, 2008.

1. Absconditus

Absconditus Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    New here so hi to everyone :thumb:

What I know about lawns plants and gardening in general you could write on the back of a mtach box :rolleyes:

We have moved house and finally we have a nice sized rear lawn. The problem is it had lots of dandelion leaves all over it so like a bull at a gate I just grabbed the first spray on weed killer from homebase (roundup) and proceeded to spray all the dandelion leaves and anything else that wasn't grass. That was four weeks ago, now, the areas where I sprayed are free from the dandelion leaves but its all turned brown and the grass in those areas looks to me as if its died too :eek:

So I have tonight read the back of the roundup spray can (yes,yes i know) and it states in bright red bold letters NOT TO USE ON LAWNS UNLESS YOU WANT TO KILL THEM :eek:

What have I done ? will ALL my lawn die ? or will the effected areas recover ? What can I do ?

Please advise I'm feeling a bit of an idiot :(

Regards.

2. crofthouse

crofthouse Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Oh dear!