Container growing

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Ron Miel, May 15, 2017.

1. Ron Miel

Ron Miel Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +4
    I'm experimenting with container growing. I am a complete beginner, so please be patient with my newbie questions.

I've got some young tomato and potato plants, and some onions and cabbages growing in small pots indoors. Getting ready to plant them in larger pots outdoors. I also sowed some leeks and carrots, but they aren't looking good so far.

What kind of soil should I use for planting?

I've got some bags of "potting compost" (contains peat) which is described as being good for container growing, and some multi-purpose compost" which is described as being good for growing vegetables. Should I just use one or other of these? A mixture of the two?

(Sorry, as a newbie I can't link to the specific ones I've got. )

Anything I should add to the mix? I understand that plants need traces of minerals from rock. Does the compost have all the needed minerals? Should I add a little gravel or sand to the mix?

I understand too that plants need certain bacteria in the soil for growth. Does the compost have the correct ones already? Maybe I should add a few scoops of soil from the garden?

What about perlite? It's supposed to increase water retention and aeration. Is this needed?

Should I add fertilizer? How about plant food? I've seen potato food sold in pellets, and tomato food in liquid. Should I add some of these?

How about water-retaining crystals? Are these useful? I heard they are good for preventing over-watering. Is that correct?

2. misterQ

misterQ Super Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,770
    You can grow all manner of things in containers.
    [​IMG]

Courgettes and butternut squashes inside buckets protected by car tyres.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Spring onions, lettuce, radishes, beetroot, calendula and tomatoes.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

The polypropylene sacks work well too.
    [​IMG]