Could kick myself, how best to get a satisfactory outcome?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by silu, May 21, 2017.

1. silu

silu gardening easy...hmmm

Ratings:
    +8,083
    i have done something I have never done before and paid a workman 1/2 for a the job upfront (I must be going senile!)
    The job was to remove an old brick fireplace and breakout the fireplace to the original (Georgian) fireplace opening and install a new hearth and a wood burning stove, the stove I purchased separately.
    It was agreed to have a black limestone hearth. When the workmen arrived to start the job they seemed in a very bad mood so thought best to leave them to it!
    After various moans from them about how hard the bricks were to break out etc, ie typical workmen moans they then laid the hearth without me seeing it. I thought it would be 1 solid bit along the front...wrong it's in 2 pieces and has a hideous sand and cement join in the middle (sunken). The hearth overhangs the carpet by miles and is covered in cement marks plus it has an indentation on the cement from where 1 of the workmen has trodden on 1 of their plastic protection mats which must have been sitting on the hearth.
    They discovered the chimney pots we have are too narrow to take the flue liner so they stopped and will be coming back to finish the job after I sourced another pot of the right size to take the liner. Why the hell they didn't check the chimney pot size when they came to quote for the job who knows!