Curling tomato leaves

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by princesspansy, Jun 3, 2008.

1. princesspansy

princesspansy Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I have 7 plants of different varieties - all appear to be unwell - the first to be affected was the big boy whose leaves have curled upwards and all the others are following suit. Also the stems seem to be twisting. I've read several ariticles on curling leaves and I'm really hoping I have over-watered them - any suggestions on what else this could be? Thanks!!
    [​IMG]
    Here is a photo taken today, I have eased of on the watering but still the leaves are curled. I hope I dont lose the crop, any advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. coub

coub Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    The most likely answer to your problem is over-watering princess but dont worry to much as they should correct themselves.Any chance of a picture of them?.

3. princesspansy

Ratings:
    +0
    I'm afraid I'm not that technical yet re: photo but as soon as teenager comes home I will get one posted. The big boy now looks nothing like a tomato plant at all - but you will soon see for yourselves - do you really think they will be ok? I've never had to destroy anything through disease and can't bear the thought of losing the tomato plants - how does one cope!!??

4. coub

coub Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Come on pull yourself together woman.How are you watering it now?.And where was it grown?.How wet is it at the moment?.AS IT COULD BE LACK OF WATER.

5. Marley Farley

Marley Farley Affable Admin! Staff Member

Grandmother Gardener Councillor Homemaker
    Ratings:
    +14,126
    :) Hi PP, as coub says could be watering.. Have they been very hot & dry?? As that also will give the same sort of symptoms..
    Physiological or Nonparasitic Leaf Roll: