Cuttings from Lavender

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by ArcticFox1977, Jun 1, 2011.

1. ArcticFox1977

ArcticFox1977 Gardener

Firefighter/Driving Instructor
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hello.

I am wondering how to go about taking a cutting from lavender plants.
    I am new to propagating. So please start with the real basics.
    We have 8 lavenders in the garden already. 2 in pots the rest in the ground.

Thanks in advance.

2. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,668
  3. Dave W

Dave W Total Gardener

Anything I fancy and can afford!
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    One way to propagate a mature plant is to take it out of the pot and bury it so that a third to a half of the stems are covered - the stems will root. This works best with an older plant that has gone woody.
    Another thing to try is to save some seed and sow it next spring. I've just potted up two seedlings that sprang up in a potted olive that had been sat next to a lavender last summer.

• Like Like x 1
    • chan2

chan2 Gardener

Gardener
      Ratings:
      +12
      • Like Like x 1
      • treetops

treetops Gardener

Ratings:
        +0
        I'm almost 3 weeks into my first ever propagation which is with Lavender too, and they are just starting to root!