DLSR advice

Discussion in 'Photography Talk' started by Pro Gard, Jan 3, 2009.

1. Pro Gard

Pro Gard Gardener

Ratings:
    +6
    Basicly I fancy a DSLR, almost soley for landscape shots.... Im a cannon fan so would probably be looking at an Eos.

Any advice regards lenses and specific model? My budget is around £500- £600 total initailly.

Dont woory about staeing the obviuse as Im a total DLSR Novice!!!

2. Dave W

Dave W Total Gardener

Anything I fancy and can afford!
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    Paul. I'm biased as I've been using a Canon 450D since May 2008. If you buy it with the 18-55 kit lens it will set you back about £433 from Amazon and possibly a bit cheaper if you shop around. The new EFS 18-55 lens, as supplied with the camera is a vast improvement on the earlier 18-55 lenses and would be a good start for you, though if you are seriously into landscape you'll probably want to look around for something a faster in due course.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canoneos450d/

3. Pro Gard

Pro Gard Gardener

Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks Dave, Im going to be having a look at a few in the flesh on Monday and will post what i get.

4. wiseowl

wiseowl Amiable Admin Staff Member

Philosophy of people
    Ratings:
    +91,630
    Hi Paul yes good choice Dave, Paul Just have a look at a few and see what you feel comfortable with there,s so many now ,Nikon,Canon,(Pentax,Samsung) GX20 Tough and Weather proof 72 seals on them might be useful :thumb::)

5. Pro Gard

Pro Gard Gardener

Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks woo.

Irritatingly the camera shop are low on stock so they suggested visiting on sat as they've only got the cannon and Nikon in stock. Good job i rang before i drove over.

Still it gives me more time to look into lenses. Ill probably want a good 18-70 and a 70-200.... just got to work out which.

6. Steve R

Steve R Soil Furtler

Carer
    Ratings:
    +3,702