dying yucca

Discussion in 'Tropical Gardening' started by blume, Aug 7, 2005.

1. blume

blume Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone,
    I'm new to this and I'm immediately in desperate need of advice ( I admit, my main reason for joining at this precise moment in time ).
    Inheritad a yucca plant that's dying from the bottom up, if I can't resurrect it via water and tlc can one take the tops off and get them to grow ( make two out of one into the bargain ), if yes how do I go about it, please - HELP!
    In anticipation, Blume

P.S.: I hate throwing anything away as long as there is the teensiest, weensiest spark of life left in it....

2. Paladin

Paladin Gardening...A work of Heart

Retired but still grubbing the soil.
    Ratings:
    +770
    Yucca leaves do die off at the base,just pull them off with a gentle downward tug,and watch out you don't get speared. My plants are sending up shoots everywhere since they were pruned a few weeks ago :eek:

3. blume

Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the quick reply, but perhaps I should explain better: the yucca is approx. 1.20m tall and is already 'bald' up to a third up, if I remove the dead leaves it will be 2 thirds bald and only the tops will have leaves. I wouldn't know where to prune as from the one trunk at the base there are only two branches, one shorter than the other and absolutely nothing else. Apart from that it will look really weird having 90cm of stalk and then a few leaves....
    A very worried Blume

P.S.: Not sure that I shouldn't have gone to the general discussion site first to say hello there, should I?

4. sandy

sandy Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    sonds like its shedding from the shock of being moved. I dont know if you can take the top off or not. Keep it somewhere warm and light and dont water too much and it will either adapt or not. sorry cant be much more help.

5. sandy

sandy Gardener

Ratings:
    +0