Easiest Edibles for Growing Indoors

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by eljigga, Jun 29, 2013.

1. eljigga

eljigga Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a complete newbie to all things gardening so would appreciate some advice from those more experienced with indoor growing. I live in a big city in Asia, so there's no such thing here as a garden where you can grow outdoors as everything is high rise.

I'm wondering what the easiest veggies and/or fruits are for growing indoors? I currently have 2 tomato plants growing in my grow room (should say struggling to grow) but would like to add a few more different things into the mix.

At this stage, I'd say for me the easier the better as I'm afraid I may lose interest if my first few tries are fails.

Summer here is 30+ degrees every day and winter is similar to those in the UK. I don't mind buying some LEDs or some other form of lighting system if required.

Also, if anyone has links to some noob guides to indoor growing that would be great too.

Thanks.

LJ

2. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,668
    Salads would be easiest. Most won't be thrilled with 30C though. Mizuma / Pak Choi type salads would be better than, say, Lettuce.

Carrots will grow well in containers. Make sure the compost is very sandy (mixing 50:50 horticultural sand and multi purpose compost is fine; I use compost left over from other crops last year)

Potatoes will grow in large bags / containers, but you get low yield - so its a lot of plant for the return. I only grow Potatoes in containers to get a few really early, before my outdoor ones are ready.

Squash would do well in higher temperatures. Most are huge plants though. Courgettes are probably the smallest plants, and would grow in a container (on a balcony, for example). Heavy yield too.