Easy Fill Hanging Baskets - tips needed

Discussion in 'Container Gardening' started by Star Jasmine, Jun 29, 2014.

1. Star Jasmine

Star Jasmine Gardener

Ratings:
    +62
    This is my first time making summer hanging baskets and I've bought those plastic "Easy Fill" ones like these: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B004UZPZZQ (pasting a link as you can't really tell from my photos)...

I've filled with a couple of small hedera, and a mixture of trailing and upright petunias, begonias and verbena. All are flowering well up top as you can see from this pic:

[​IMG]

However, the plants I put in the lower holes of the basket have all died. I've been watering them well on a daily basis (except when it rains) so not sure why this has happened. The bottom ones didn't flower at all and now I've been left with empty holes at the bottom which look unsightly up close, and no easy way of remedying it as I'd have to dissemble the entire basket.

Here's a photo to show what I mean:

[​IMG]

Does anyone have any tips? What do you think would be the best kinds of plants to put in those lower holes? I'll be making up baskets again in the autumn so would be interested to know if anyone has any advice, especially if you use these baskets yourself.

2. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,669
    Can you stick your finger in there and see if it feels Dry? Moist? Soaking wet?

3. Star Jasmine

Star Jasmine Gardener

Ratings:
    +62
    I check the baskets regularly to make sure the water has reached the bottom - I've removed plants from a couple of lower holes due to them dying, so there's easy access. I make sure they stay moist and use that as my gauge for whether or not they need watering, but the ones at the bottom still die. :( I'm doing something wrong, just not sure what?

4. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,669
    If it is moist, but neither bone dry nor soaking wet, at the bottom then I can't see what you are doing wrong.