feeding and then eating plants

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by busybee, May 30, 2009.

1. busybee

busybee Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I really hope this doesn't sound TOO stupid (i am new to gardening so please forgive me if it is a silly question), but if i feed my herbs (they're in containers), is it then ok to eat them? Also, i need to feed some other plants in containers but my rabbits sometimes nibble on them, so is it ok to feed those plants without potentially killing my rabbits?

Appologies if they are stupid questions but i just don't know for sure and would rather check! lol! :hehe:

2. Canucks72

Canucks72 Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    What are you using as a feed? If there are any worries about feeds, they will (or should) be listed on the pack. Most are fine to use on plants that you intend to eat straight away.
    It's pesticides where you have to be careful, they normally say to leave herbs four weeks from spraying until you eat them.
    Besides, you should avoid watering the foliage of your plants with added feed, and try to water the base of the plant. If you have been doing that, I shouldn't think there will be any issue with your bunnies munching on the foliage.
    I use an organic feed and it can be used right up to harvest.

Not sure why you'd need to feed herbs though? They grow really well without any feed. Or are you trying very woody, long term herbs?

3. busybee

busybee Gardener

Ratings:
    +0