Flowering Evergreen Climber

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Zippy, Apr 6, 2008.

1. Zippy

Zippy Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everybody,
    I'm a amateur gardener and would like some advice. I would like a summer flowering, evergreen climbing plant to go in my south facing back garden.
    Can anybody suggest what I should be looking for? Many thanks.

2. daitheplant

daitheplant Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +2,881
    Hi Zippy and welcome, I would suggest an evergreen or semi evergreen Honeysuckle.

3. Tiarella

Tiarella Optimistic Gardener

Ratings:
    +120
    I can only think of pyracantha offhand as an evergreeen climber. It has lovely flowers in Spring and berries in Autumn.

4. daitheplant

daitheplant Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +2,881
    Pyracantha is not so much a climber, more a wall shrub.

5. wilroda

wilroda Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    You could try a solanum glasnevin. A fairly rapid evergreen climber with purple flowers ( part of the potato family!) Trouble is, its not totally hardy but is happy in my garden in the south.
    Pyracantha as tiarella suggests is a good choice although you would need to keep clipping it back. Looks wonderful though.I have them growing by the side of the front door and the birds love the orange berries in the autumn

6. Zippy

Ratings:
    +0
    THanks everybody for all your suggestions - I think I going to go with 'daitheplant' suggestion of the Honeysuckle - got a feeling that the Pyracantha might get a bit messing when the berries start falling off as its going to be right outside by the back door. Many thanks Zippy

7. wilroda

wilroda Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Pyracantha is great because it remains green to the base of the plant and you can keep it clipped to the shape you want.The berries and flowers arent a problem at all. Honeysuckle can get a bit straggly...

8. geckoman

geckoman Gardener

Ratings:
    +0