From patio to lawn - on clay.

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by ascoyne, Dec 16, 2022.

1. ascoyne

ascoyne Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    Hi folks, sorry to post another thread about replacing a patio with lawn. I've read previous posts but whilst interesting they still left me with questions.

We bought our house 16 years ago, brand new, and the builder excavated down so that the level of the patio is about 3-4 feet lower than the surrounding land. The "soil" is largely very, very heavy clay. It's that super cold, solid clay which is light blue in colour, sometimes called puddling clay I believe. To make matters worse the area is surrounded by a low brick wall so I guess (I have no knowledge) adding any kind of drainage would be impossible or too expensive.

The patio was laid properly but is now uneven. I think the lack of drainage means the water underneath the slabs freezes, then expands meaning any patio is likely to move. As such I am reluctant to pay for another patio to be laid and my thought is that a lawn might be better. The question is whether it's possible for any lawn to succeed.

I would like to replace the patio with some kind of wildflower lawn.

Would what I want to do be impossible or prohibitively expensive? My thought was to ask a groundworker to remove the patio, dig down so far, remove the clay, replace it with soil and I would then lay rolled turf with wildflowers in it.

Can I ask

1/ Should forget the whole idea? I do need to do something and as I said above I think any patio would move.

2/ How far would we have to dig down and remove clay for this to work?

3/ Would I just put all soil down or a layer of stones, grit or similar first?

4/ The area is about 32 feet x 12 feet.

5/ Any idea of very rough cost for a groundworker/labourer to remove patio/dig out.

Sorry for the long post, any advice very welcome

Dave

2. gks

gks Total Gardener

Production Manager
    Ratings:
    +4,947