Garden Lawn Beginner Help Needed.

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Johno, May 3, 2014.

1. Johno

Johno Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    Hi there,

My names John I live in the south east of England, I have a south east facing garden with stony soil.

I have recently moved into the property with my partner and I am looking at having a very simple lawn I have planted grass seed and its is coming up lovely however it is accompanied by another shrub type thing which looks somewhat like a 2 leaf clover (leaves are similar shape to those on garden hedges)

I just wondered if anyone knew what this was? And if so whether it will hinder the grass?

Any help would be appreciated as I am VERY new to gardening of any sorts.

John

2. Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +53,886
    Welcome to GC Johno. :) It's very difficult to identify any weed or plant with just a description, close up pictures if possible would be a great help. Is it possible to pull or dig them out or are there to many. Unfortunately with your lawn being in it's early stages using a weedkiller would be harmful, however there are gel killers available that you brush onto the leaves.

3. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,596
    Hello and welcome:)

Like Sheal said, pics are the way to go, so we can see what the problem is.

In my experience though, it is not at all unusual for a few weeds to come up along with the grass when you seed a freshly prepared area. I'm pretty sure that sometimes the weed seeds are present in the lawn seed. But also in my experience, it doesn't pose a problem as long as you follow a good lawn care regime.

Creeping buttercup is a slight exception. Its a bit of a pain if you don't want it as its hard to get rid of but even that's not so bad.