Garden refurb idea

Discussion in 'Garden Projects and DIY' started by Ali54701, May 16, 2023.

1. Ali54701

Ali54701 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone,
    I am very new to gardening and I find very little time due to my work schedule and attached are the pictures of the mess in my garden but now I am serious about sorting this out and every year by the time I finish removing weed my motivation for gardening disappears but I have a plan with the budget in hand I need an advice from you experienced people.

My plan is to remove the weed from from the garden and in the picture in the space A, B and C, I will lay Weed control fabric and either I can stuff garden gravel by having bricks boundary so the gravel stays in place or by having Weed control fabric I can lay garden slabs and in between them I can stuff gravel.
    This way I can manage only areas 1, 2 and 3 for gardening and rest I can use for keeping pots etc.
    Sorry my plan might sound poor but with the budget and research I cannot think of anything else for DIY project.
    Can you guys tell me if the plan for having gravel over the top for weed control fabric would work to control weed and also the gravel remains in place?
    Also in the middle I am planning to have fake grass but right now my worry is to sort out the weed as its really a big problem every year.
    Thank you everyone in advance really appreciate your time to read and help

WhatsApp Image 2023-05-16 at 15.21.25.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2023
  2. Michael Hewett

Michael Hewett Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +19,299
    I haven't got gravel but from gardens I see with it, it never stays in place, you have to rake it over to keep it looking tidy ... and dirt collects in it and weed seeds can root into that, so I don't think it's easy to look after. Also cats like to use it as their toilet.