Garden veggie tour - warning...many photos!!

Discussion in 'Members Gallery' started by Steve R, Jul 24, 2009.

1. Steve R

Steve R Soil Furtler

Carer
    Ratings:
    +3,702
    A mini tour around the veg in our garden, here in Cumbria. Its my first time growing edibles apart from herbs so most of the planting/digging has been last minute and some of it is temporary.

Area 1: Potatoes, tumbling cherry toms, carrots, rocket, lettuce, Aliccante toms.

[​IMG]

Potatoes chitted and grown in old compost bags (8 of them) a mix of varieties including Vale emarald, Rocket and Pink fur apples. I harvested these last night and we had some PFA for dinner...as good as Jerseys if not better.

The tumbin' cherry toms, yet to ripen..

[​IMG]

Carrots in the old bin and in the wooden trough behind it are all the salad leaves, some sweet peas and alicante toms, also yet to ripen.

[​IMG]

New for this summer is a herb trough including mint (in its own fort knox style area) and oregano, basil, chives. parsley and coriander. We have sage, bay, rosemary and dill elsewhere in the garden.

[​IMG]

Another new bed for this year with "A" frame supports holding runner beans and sweet peas, you can just make out some beetroot at the base of the frame.

[​IMG]

The same bed from the other side.

[​IMG]

On this side of the bed there are shallots at the front ( we have grown and harvested radishes in the centre of the a frame when everything was first planted)

[​IMG]

The strawberry bed down the side of the house in front of the compost bin and behind the greenhouse.Half of this has already given us fruit, the other half has yet to and are repeat fruiting (apparently) although right now they are just going crazy sending out runners. (Note to self: Get those runners planted!)

[​IMG]