Garden wall/fence/beds?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by forget-me-not, Aug 13, 2008.

1. forget-me-not

forget-me-not Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I have a dog and need a way of keeping my dog from the middle/bottom section of the garden where the lawn and childrens play area is.

What are your suggestions? There are obvious choices such as a wall or fence, but I'd like something with as little cost as possible and also, something that doesnt mentally block you out of the garden, more draws you in?

I thought of maybe constructing wooden raised planters (one on each side) and sinking a post in next to these the hang a gate. Or maybe a strong trelis type fence that can have climbers growing up?

I am also at a loss for which climbers will be easy to grow...I am a novice

2. daitheplant

daitheplant Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +2,881
    You do realise you are also quite famous on site? Being the 5ooo th member of GC. Congratulations and welcome.:D

3. daitheplant

Retired
    Ratings:
    +2,881
    Go with the trellis, Jasmine would work well against it.:thumb:

4. forget-me-not

forget-me-not Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I know I just saw that! Waw, what a bit of luck that was on my part :)

Does Jasmine need a lot of care and special treatment?

5. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +48,979
    Welcome forget-me-not, we've all been waiting for you and been promised a great big party - I hope they aren't going to let us down ;)

I haven't any better answer than David - what about a lead? (Sorry thats not very helpful is it).

6. forget-me-not

forget-me-not Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Ooo party :) No, a lead isnt much help :P but thanks for the welcome :)

7. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,668
    "I'd like something with as little cost as possible"

I'm afraid my suggestion isn't cheap, but just in case useful: