Gardening book recommendations please

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Fidgetsmum, Jul 13, 2010.

1. Fidgetsmum

Fidgetsmum Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +865
    I've a colleague due to retire shortly who has expressed his intention to take up gardening 'seriously'. He's not a complete novice, but has grown mostly veg., in his small garden, now he and his wife will be moving to somewhere with a (very) much larger garden where they want to cultivate a flower garden.

We've already purchased garden vouchers to the value of £250 and have a further £40 available to spend (well ... £37.39 to be precise) and he has expressly asked for ' ... a general flower type gardening book ...'.

'The ... Expert' series are OK but £10 is hardly retirement present level and he already has the RHS 'Gardening Throughout the Year', so any suggestions up to about £50 would be most welcome.

2. ClaraLou

ClaraLou Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +2,730
    Hi Fidgetsmum

I have a lot of books, but the one I find myself turning to again and again is the Reader's Digest Encyclopaedia of Garden Plants and Flowers. The RHS has produced a series of much flashier tomes, but I find them a bit unwieldy and not as useful for finding the important information quickly. I suppose this is just my personal taste, but I find you need a crane to lift the RHS A-Z of Garden Plants and it seems to take up a lot of space to say relatively little.

Unfortunately it seems to be quite difficult to get hold of the Reader's Digest book now, although WH Smith still lists it:-

http://www.whsmith.co.uk/CatalogAnd...oductId=9780276421914&shop=10004&type=Froogle

It also has the more expensive RHS book:-

http://www.whsmith.co.uk/CatalogAndSearch/ProductDetails.aspx?productID=9781405332965