Gas greenhouse heaters

Discussion in 'Greenhouse Growing' started by wilroda, Aug 28, 2008.

1. wilroda

wilroda Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I feel in need of a rant here!

I have used paraffin to heat my greenhouse for years but because of rising prices I thought i would look into the cost of gas greenhouse heaters.

They are so dear! Almost a hundred pounds for one - even on ebay!

Does anyone know where I could get one cheaper?

2. Freddy

Freddy Miserable git, well known for it

Retired - yay!
    Ratings:
    +12,517
    Hi wilroda. I'm no expert, but £100 for a gas heater sounds quite reasonable, to me. Just out of interest, are you planning on heating the whole greenhouse ? Gas too has become very expensive and in the depths of winter/early spring, I'd imagine the costs of running would be astronomical. Cheers...freddy.

3. wilroda

wilroda Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Years ago I had a gas heater, inherited with the greenhouse (8x6) it eventually died a death. For a few years though it worked great. I only used one cylinder of gas( bbq size) for the whole winter, keeping frost off initially then for seedlings etc. That worked out at about £20 for the winter.
    Thats why I am tempted now, with prices so high for electricity and probably paraffin too.

4. PeterS

PeterS Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +4,015
    Wilroda - I am not recommending electricity, as I have never used it to heat a greenhouse - but you may not want to rule it out totally.

My own experience is that I have a 10' by 8' wooden summerhouse with a complete glass front. I fill it with borderline plants over the winter and heat it with electricity. All I want to do is keep the frost off. So the thermostat is set to about 1C.

Its not that hot in Yorkshire, but over the last two winters it has only cost me £1 each year to heat it. I know the figures exactly as I have an energy meter that measures it. I was surprised how low it was. I think the reasons are