Giant Crinium

Discussion in 'Tropical Gardening' started by sal73, Dec 7, 2011.

1. sal73

sal73 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +2,998
    Hi All , few years ago take this giant crinium back from Italy , the bulb is the size of a small water melon ,(not a joke). It`s frost hardy and the flower can reach 5 feet high with a 2 inches thick stem , but so far didn`t produce any flower yet. Can anyone give me any advice?
    I read that they like moist soil , but it dasn`t work for my one , will it performe better in a sunny position? has oneone got one similar ?

[​IMG]

2. longk

longk Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +23,091
    I've no experience of this, but if it were mine I would lift one of the offsets and move it indoors over the winter, planting out again in May. Just to see what happens........

3. chan2

chan2 Gardener

Gardener
    Ratings:
    +12
    hi sal,

crinum like warm, sunny sheltered position. in a bed backed with a south facing wall is ideal as long as its not too exposed to the wind.

not sure which one it is but i hope it flowers for you - they are very lovely :)

emily

4. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,099
    I'm also not sure what you have Sal.

I've got a clump of Crinum powelli that flowers pretty well.

I think its probably smaller than the type you have.
    Its bone dry mostly in summer in full sun.
    Appears to be totally hardy, but I think there could be others not quite so hardy.

5. sal73

sal73 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +2,998
    Thank you Pete and Emily.